Dasa Mudras:  By: Sri Lalita Prasad Jammulamadaka (Lalitanandanadha)

The significance of mudras was dealt vividly in Nityahridaya.

Mudras are to be taught by the Guru and they may differ as per sampradaya (sampradaya bheda).

Mudras are positions of fingers practised in worship.

There are 10 mudras that are used in the worship of Sri yentra.

The ten Mudras are from Sarva-Samkshobhini to Sarva-Trikhanda and they are the means by which the Tripurasundari is worshiped as enunciated in the Nityahrdaya.

Traditionally right hand and fingers is taken to represent the prakasa principle and the left represents the vimarsa aspect of the Brahman principle.

The dormant volition in the Brahman principle to evolve as many could materialize by the transgression of prakasa and vimarsa (kama-kala).

The triad of sakti in the form of vama-jyestha- roudri (when unified is ambika-sakti) are taken to represent the prakasa aspect of Siva and are represented by the digits of the right hand while applying these mudras.

Similarly the triad of sakti in the form of iccha-jnana-kriya (when unified is santa-sakti) are taken to represent the vimarsa aspect of sakti and are represented by digits of the left hand.

While presenting the mudra there is joining of the fingers of both the hands connoting the absolute volition and the consequential cosmic evolution of names and forms.

                  Iccha matram prabho sristih
The presentation of these mudras is as per Bharati sampradaya.  

J. Lalita Prasad.
                     224, Happy Home Apts.,
                     Tilaknagar. Hyderabad 500044.
                     Ph. 040-27551100.
           (0)94907 97928.
                     e-mail. - jlapra@gmail.com