Yoga Asanas 
Yoga Therapy 
Kapila Ashram 
Yoga Institutions 
Yoga Links 
Thanks Giving 



    Yoga is derived from the Sanskrit word “YUJ” meaning to bind the Yoke.  It is true union of our will with the will of God.

        The main Aim of Yoga is to unite the individual soul, body and mind in order to attain the utmost peace of mind.

        Our ancient sages Kapila Maharshi & Patanjali suggested 8 stages of Yoga to secure purity of body, mind and soul and final communion with God.  They are as follows :

1. Yama : Social Control or social discipline. It contains 5 moral practices.

        a) Non-Violence :  Ahimsa - not to hurt any creature mentally or physically through mind, speech or action.

        b) Truthfulness : Satya - It is the presentation of the matter as perceived with the help of sense organs.

        c) Non-stealing : Asteya - means not to covet and acquire physically, mentally or by speech other’s possessions.

        d) Celibacy : Brahmacharya - It does not mean life long celibacy, but moderation in sex between married couples.

        e) Non-acquisitiveness : ‘Aparigraha’ means abandoning wealth and means of sensual pleasures.

2. Niyama : “Self discipline” - There are 5 rules of conduct for self discipline.  They are as follows.

         a) Cleanliness : “Shaucha” - means Internal and external purification of the body and the mind.

        b) Contentment : Santosha : It is a state of mind by which one lives happily and satisfied in congenial or uncongenial atmosphere.

        c) Austerity or Penace : Tapas - It is the conquest of all desires or sensual pleasures by practising purity in thought, speech and action.

        d) Self Study : Svadhyaya - Exchange of thoughts in order to secure purify in thought and accomplish knowledge.

        e) Surrender to God : Ishvara Pranidhana - It consists of pure devotion to God and surrender of all actions to Him.

3. Asana : Body Control - Asana means holding the body in a particular posture to bring stability to the body and poise to the mind.  The systematic practice of Yogasana provides both body and mind controle in order to attain sadhana or perfection of life.

4. Pranayama : Breath Control : It is to stimulate, regulate and harmonize vital energy of the body.  Just as bath is required for purifying the body, Pranayama is required for purifying the mind.

5. Pratyahara : Discipline of the Senses - The extroversion of the sense organs due to their hankering after worldly objects has to be restrained and directed inwards towards the source of all existence.

6. Dharana : Concentration : Inner obstraction - (i.e.,) Mind Control - One can set his mind for meditation and by the regular practice of controlling the mind

7. Dhyana : Meditation : When one maintains the focus of attention through dharana unbound by time and space, It becomes Dhyana.  It gives the real meaning of human life.

8. Samadhi : Self realisation - Samadhi is the climax of Dhyana, Supreme happiness, Free from pleasure, pain or misery is experienced.  The meditator, the act of meditation and the object meditated upon all the three shed their individual characteristics and merge with one single vision of the entire cosmos.

        In Ashtanga Yoga - the first five stages constitute  the external Yoga.  The group of Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi is called Samyama - the internal Yoga.

In Yogasastra, Yoga has been classified into Four categories. They are :

1.      Bhakti Yoga

2.      Karma Yoga

3.      Jnana Yoga

4.      Hatha Yoga

        It is yoga that systematizes the body and mind by renouncing all the materialistic ambitions.

Caution : Yoga must be learnt through a proper Guru. Yoga Therapy must be tried under the observation of proper Guru and in consultation of your family doctor.


Disclaimer : Yoga is an ancient science propunded by rishis.
For good or bad of it, no one is responsible.